College of Law

Home Office of Student Affairs Student Bar Association & Organizations

Student government and organizations serve an important function in the law school experience. These opportunities complement S.J. Quinney College of Law’s education with academic, professional, social, and career development opportunities. The College of Law’s student organizations provide a wide variety of purpose, and new student groups are always being formed to meet the changing needs of the student body. The University as a whole has a wide variety of Recognized Student Organizations (RSO) that law students are welcome to join.


The Student Bar Association (SBA) is the official student government of the S.J. Quinney College of Law. The SBA is the voice for the student body, which can affect policies regarding curriculum, grades, class and exam scheduling, legal clinics, and so on. They also serve as the Student Advisory Committee (SAC) and elected student government of the College of Law. As voting members of the College Council, SBA Board members serve as representatives of the student body to the law school faculty and administration. The SBA participates in faculty retention, promotion, and tenure evaluations. The SBA also sponsors social events, philanthropies, and other activities to build wellness and belong among the student body.

Carter Moore
Seth LaPray
Vice President
Grace Sponaugle
Chief of Staff
Landon Evans
Director of Treasury
Eben Kohtz
Director of Community Relations
Madelynn Woolf
Director of Events
Olivia McQuarrie
Director of Marketing
Abby Leeser
3L Representative
Tess Peterson
2L Representative
Kyle Andrews
1L Representative
Evangelina Marquez
MLS Liaison


The ASUU (Associated Students of the University of Utah) Student Government, much like the United States federal government, consists of an executive branch, a legislative branch, and a judicial branch. These branches work together to accomplish the varied functions of ASUU to serve the student body as effectively as possible.

Jennifer Williams
ASUU College of Law Senator
ASUU College of Law Assembly Representative