SJQ Moot Court Team Roundup

Congratulations to all of our Moot Court team members and coaches! We know a lot of hard work and effort goes in to prepare for and compete in the competitions. You have done SJQ proud!

Here is a roundup of all the different teams who were able to compete this year. Some teams were unable to attend competitions due to COVID-19.

The National Trial Competition

February 7-9, 2020
Seattle, Washington

Coach: Richard McKelvie

Team:Cara Dunkelman & Emily Nuvan Team: Brittany Krueger & Bradley Taylor

Results: Taylor and Krueger placed in the semifinals, outperforming many teams from other law schools in the Western United States.

Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition

February 8, 2020
Los Angeles, California

Team: Maren Laurence and Stacie Simpson

Results: They were the only female team to compete.

The Jeffrey G. Miller National Environmental Law Moot Court Competition (Pace)

February 20-22, 2020
White Plains, New York
Coaches: Ben Machlis and Melissa Reynolds
Team: Nate Broadhurst, Brian House, & Kayla Race
Results: The team made it to semifinals. Nate Broadhurst received the Best Oralist – Honorable Mention Award.

The Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition

February 20-23
Denver, Colorado
Coach: Jackie Morrison
Team: Connor Arrington, Jordan Greene, Cole Morgan, Steffen Thomas, Skylar Walker
Results: Skylar Walker received the 9th Best Oralist award

The National Appellate Advocacy Competition

February 27-29, 2020
San Francisco, California
Coaches: Troy Booher and Christopher Stout
Team: Christian Clark, Chase Wilde, Claire McGuire
Team: Ryan Alba, Whitney McKiddy, Patrick Neville
Results: McGuire received the 4th Best Oralist award and Team Alba, McKiddy and Neville made it to semifinals

The National Representation in Mediation Competition

February 29-March 1, 2020
Eugene, Oregon
Coaches: Jim Holbrook and Stacy Parsons (Heidi Smith, advisor traveling with the team)
Team: Geena Arata & Daniel Crook
Team: Adam Duncan & Anna Christiansen
Results: Both teams won their afternoon rounds.

The National Energy & Sustainability Moot Court Competition

March 5-7, 2020
Morgantown, West Virginia
Coach: Nate Mitchell
Team: Trevor Gruwell and Rob D’Andrea
Results: Trevor and Rob competed admirably in four preliminary rounds, and each of theme received high marks from some of the judges. Unfortunately, their raw scores weren’t enough to advance to the next stage, especially given this year’s stiff competition.

The USPTO Patent Application Drafting Competition

March 7, 2020
Denver, Colorado
Coaches: Sam Tahmassebi and Jorge Contreras
Team: Kyle Schultz, Luke Hanks, Joshua Loader & David Ostler
Results: Five teams competed and although we received a strong score sheet it wasn’t quite enough to win.

The Uvaldo Herrera National Moot Court Competition

March 19-21, 2020
Phoenix, Arizona
Coaches: Rebecca Ryon and Engels Tejeda
Team: Angelica Juarez, Christian Silva-Vique, and Amy Garcia
Results: Took 3rd place respondent

The AIPLA Giles Sutherland Rich Moot Court Competition

March 20-22, 2020
Palo Alto, California
Coach: David Johnson
Team: Brady Nash and Payton Hampton
Results: Happened via zoom, team eliminated in the first round