Stegner Center Student Scholarship Recipients

Oct 16, 2013 | Stegner Center

The Wallace Stegner Center would like to congratulate our student scholarship recipients for the 2013-2014 academic year. The Stegner Center oversees a rich array of scholarships, fellowships, and awards, ranging from cash awards for outstanding papers to fellowships that combine financial support with clerkships and job placements upon graduation. This year’s scholarship recipients include the following individuals:

The Patrick O’Hara Fellowship was awarded to John Robinson. The O’Hara Honors Program provides comprehensive financial support and mentoring to promising natural resources law students and young lawyers. The program contains three parts: a summer clerkship; a law school merit scholarship; and a two-year position practicing natural resources law in the Attorney General’s Office after graduation.

The Robert Schmid Natural Resources Writing Award went to Shane Stroud. The Schmid Award was established to permanently acknowledge Professor Robert Schmid’s service to students and his contributions to the natural resources field. The fund provides an annual cash award to the student who writes the best paper on a natural resources topic.

The Robert W. Swenson Natural Resources Scholarship was awarded to Haley Carmer and Melissa Reynolds. The Swenson Family and the Natural Resources Law Forum (NRLF) annually fund this fellowship in memory of Professor Bob Swenson and his long career at the College of Law. It is awarded to students who have demonstrated a commitment to natural resources and environmental law and have a strong desire to work in the environmental/natural resources field. Applicants must be first- or second-year students in good academic standing and members of NRLF.

The Khazeni Fellowship in Environmental Law went to Scott Hutchins and Douglas Naftz. The Khazeni Fellowship was established by the family of Reza Ali Khazeni, who was interested in nature and preservation of the environment. The fellowship provides an award to a student to work for a low-paying or nonpaying environmental agency or organization.

The Dewsnup Fellowship in Natural Resources Law was awarded to Mark Capone. The Dewsnup Fellowship is provided through the generosity of Calvin E. Clark (J.D. ’56) to honor his good friend and classmate, Richard L. Dewsnup, the first Solicitor General of the State of Utah and an outstanding natural resources lawyer. The fellowship recipient receives a grant for the second year of law school and a paid summer clerkship with the chief of the Natural Resources Division of the Attorney General’s Office.

The Edward W. & Bertha J. Clyde Scholarship in Natural Resources Law was awarded to Smith Monson. In 1998 Betha J. Clyde gave a gift to the University of Utah College of Law that provides funding to support student participation in Wallace Stegner Center programs. The fund carries her name and that of her late husband, Edward W. Clyde (J.D. ’42), a highly regarded water law expert.