Stegner Center Student Scholarship Recipients and Writing Awards

Sep 01, 2022 | Stegner Center

The Stegner Center oversees a rich array of scholarships, fellowships, and awards for College of Law students, ranging from cash awards for outstanding papers to fellowships that combine financial and scholarship support with clerkships and job placements upon graduation. This year’s scholarship recipients include the following individuals:

The ESRR Endowment Fund for the Wallace Stegner Center Scholarship was awarded to entering 1L student Maria Catalano. The Scholarship is provided to an admitted candidate who has a demonstrated interest in environmental law and conservation, with preference given to individuals either working for or interested in working for advocacy organizations. The scholarship is renewed annually based on continued commitment to the study and practice of environmental law, providing support for all three years of law school. The scholarship aims to open career opportunities for students interested in pursuing employment with nonprofit environmental advocacy organizations by defraying the costs of a legal education.


The Patrick O’Hara Fellowship was awarded to second year student Emily McKay. The fellowship was created in honor of Patrick O’ Hara, an attorney and 1982 law school graduate who worked with the Natural Resources Division of the Utah Attorney General’s Office, where he was dedicated to the sensible management of Utah’s natural resources. The O’Hara Fellowship provides comprehensive financial support and mentoring to promising law students and young lawyers seeking a career in natural resources law. The program contains three parts: a summer clerkship; a law school merit scholarship; and a two-year position practicing natural resources law in the Attorney General’s Office after graduation.


The Calvin Clark & Richard Dewsnup Fellowship in Natural Resources Law was awarded to Carter Moore. The recently renamed Clark & Dewsnup Fellowship was originally funded by Calvin E. Clark (J.D. ’56) to honor his good friend and classmate, Richard L. Dewsnup, the first Solicitor General of the State of Utah and an outstanding natural resources lawyer. In recognition of Calvin Clark’s generosity and support for the College of Law, the award has been renamed the Calvin Clark & Richard Dewsnup Fellowship. It provides a scholarship for the second year of law school and a paid summer clerkship with the Chief of the Natural Resources Division of the Attorney General’s Office.


The Ali Reza Khazeni Fellowship in Environmental Law went to Kasey Lindstrom (2L) to spend the summer of 2022 with Advocates for the West in Boise, ID. The Fellowship was established by the Khazeni family in memory of Reza Ali Khazeni, who was committed to nature conservation and preservation of the environment. The fellowship provides an award to students who spend the summer working for a non-profit environmental organization.



The Anderson Fellowship in Oil & Gas went to Haley George. The Anderson Fellowship in Oil & Gas is provided through the generosity of the Anderson Hatch Foundation, in honor of G.W. Anderson, known by his peers as “a pioneer in Utah’s oil and gas industry.” The Fellowship provides a scholarship and a paid summer internship in the Oil and Gas Law practice group of Holland and Hart LLP.



The Robert Schmid Natural Resources Writing Award went to Paris C. Wagner. The Schmid Award was established to acknowledge the late Professor Robert Schmid’s service to students and his contributions to the natural resources field. The fund has provided an annual cash award to the student who authors the best paper on a natural resources topic.



The W.J. Mitchell Family Endowed Merit Fellowship went to James H. Whiting. The Mitchell Fellowship was established through the generosity of Neil R. Mitchell in 1994 to honor the memory of his grandfather William J. Mitchell, a member of the first graduating class of the University of Utah College of Law (1913), and other members of the Mitchell family. The Mitchell Fellowship is awarded to a student who demonstrates extraordinary promise in the study of law and whose undergraduate or other graduate study represents distinction in a science discipline.


This year’s Behle’s Fellows are Nathan Gardner and Jacob Robison who will be working on research projects for the Wallace Stegner Center under the supervision of Research Professors Heather Tanana and John Ruple. The Grace Clayton Behle Fellowship Endowment provides support for two annual fellowships for the Stegner Center for students interested in environmental or natural resources law and policy.