Wallace Stegner Center Team Offers Strong Performance at Pace Environmental Law Moot Court Competition

Oct 18, 2013 | Stegner Center

The University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law’s National Environmental Law Moot Court Team – Douglas Crapo, Sarah Carlquist, and Megan McKay – very ably and professionally represented the University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law at the national competition at Pace Law School in White Plains, N.Y.  The National Environmental Law Moot Court Competition is known for the complexity of its problems and last year’s problem was no exception.  It involved a citizen suit brought to redress an alleged violation of section 404 of the Clean Water Act, related issues of standing, whether the suit is barred by an intervening state enforcement action, and whether the court lacks subject matter jurisdiction under the “ongoing violation” principle established by the U.S. Supreme Court in Gwaltney.  All three students argued superbly in three rounds, and Sarah Carlquist was named best oralist in one of the rounds.

In reflecting on the team’s performance, Dean Bob Adler, who coached this year’s team along with Professor Jamie Pleune, noted, “I was very pleased with the manner in which this team represented the College of Law and our environmental program, competing against very tough competition and arguing an extremely difficult problem.  I remain convinced that participation in the Pace competition is one of the best ways for students to learn how to apply the environmental law they learn in class in a realistic simulation of real practice.”

The Stegner Center appreciates the generosity of our donors whose support makes is possible for us to send a student team to the Moot Court competition. Donors included the Energy, Natural Resources and Environmental Law Section of the Utah State Bar, Parr Brown Gee & Loveless, Lear & Lear LLP, Winder & Counsel PC, Tim Bywater, Jason Groenewold, Cameron Johnson, Mark Benjamin Machlis, Jim Moore and Kathryn Lindquist, Jessica Peterson, Jamie Pluene (co-coach), Mark “Rod” Smith, and Laura Tanner. The Stegner Center also appreciates our judges who provided the team with tremendous support in preparing for and participating in the competition.  Judges included Vicki Baldwin, Cullen Battle, Jared Bennett, Steve Bloch, Troy Booher, Tyler Buswell, Paul Castle, Emily Chiang, Robin Craig, Wendy Crowther, Lincoln Davies, Lynn Davies, Gary Dodge, Dani Hawkes, Jim Holbrook, Jennifer Horne, Megan Houdeshel, Mike Keller, Emilie Lewis, Zack Peterson, Jamie Pleune (co-coach), Rick Rathbun, Arnold Reitze, Cliff Rosky, Elizabeth Schulte, Jeff Schwartz, Liz Silvestrini, Chris Stout, Michael Teter, Joro Walker, and Amy Wildermuth