Pace Moot Court Team Advances to National Quarterfinals

Congratulations are in order for the team of Bryan Baron, Sarah Goldberg, and Danielle Hawkes from the University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law, who competed in the Pace National Environmental Law Moot Court Competition, which was held February 18-20 at the Pace University Law School in White Plains, New York.

The team won best oralist three times — Hawkes twice, and Baron once. In what was described as a very tough field, they also advanced to the quarterfinals of the competition.

The quarterfinal included a matchup against Lewis and Clark— like the Quinney College, a perennial contender for the Pace title. The match was extremely close, according to team coach Lincoln Davies: “I think everyone in the room would agree it could have gone either way between our team and Lewis and Clark. Ultimately, Lewis and Clark narrowly defeated us, and then went on to win the championship,” he said.

The Pace Moot Court competition is focused on environmental law issues. This year’s problem concerned the overseas disposal of electronic waste and involved questions on the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), the Alien Tort Claims Act, and prudential and constitutional standing. Teams from 84 schools participated.

“Utah’s team in the Pace National Environment Law Moot Court Competition showed exactly why this is such an invaluable experience for students,” Davies said. “All three of the students advocated their positions with skill and acumen.  Their performance was a testament to their hard work, the tremendous support we received from the College of Law community, and the strength of students at Utah Law.”

Additionally, Davies thanked all of the team’s supporters, particularly citing Megan Anderson Houdeshel and Ben Machlis for their many hours of dedication to the team each week leading up to the competition.

The team wishes to thank Steven Clyde and Clyde Snow & Sessions, Jason Hardin and Fabian & Clendenin, Jim Holtkamp and Holland & Hart, Clay Parr and Parr Brown Gee & Loveless, Jim Moore, Jessica Peterson, Helen Serassio, and Rod Smith for generous financial support; Bob Adler, Allyson Barker, Tyler Buswell, Emily Chiang, Jay Cobb, Wendy Crowther, Lindsay Ford, Mike Howell, Cortney Kochevar, Sanne Knudsen, Jon Lear, Katie Lewis, Wayne McCormack, Dan Medwed, Zack Peterson, Arnold Reitze, John Ruple, Rod Smith, Chris Whytock, and Amy Wildermuth for insightful assistance in judging practice rounds; and to Jan Nystrom, John Piele, Elizabeth Seeley, and Mary Wheeler for logistical support.