National Moot Court Team Named Regional Champions

The University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law’s National Moot Court team recently returned victorious from the regional competition in Phoenix. Ted Ashton, Elin Lindstrom, and Jeff Mann were outstanding and prevailed over teams from Phoenix, the University of Wyoming, and the University of Colorado to proceed to the final round. In front of a panel of five federal and state judges, the team defeated UNLV to be crowned regional champions. The team was also recognized for submitting the highest scoring brief in the competition.  As regional champions, their team will compete for the national title next semester in New York City.

Jennifer Horn, Robert Denny, and Rachel Wertheimer were equally impressive. Their team dominated Arizona State and competed against a strong team from the University of Colorado in a round that ended in a tie. Unfortunately, Colorado advanced to the semi-final round based on a tiebreaker. Neither Utah team was outscored in any round of the competition.

The team wishes to thank all who made their trip and achievements possible, in particular, Professors Amy Wildermuth and Lincoln Davies. Team members would also like to express their appreciation to Seth Black, Cheylynn Hayman, Rita Cornish, Mica McKinney, Jonathan Pappasideris, Joe Paul, and Kelly Preece, all of whom gave up their evenings to help the team prepare. Finally, a very special thanks to Carolynn Westenskow without whom the team’s success would not have been possible.