Justice Durham Serves as Jurist-in-Residence, Presides over Traynor Moot Court Finals

Justice Durham Moot 2013-16On April 4, the University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law welcomed Utah Supreme Court Justice Christine M. Durham as this year’s Jurist-in-Residence.  Justice Durham has had a remarkable career, including 31 years on the Utah Supreme Court, 10 as its Chief Justice.  She was the 2007 recipient of the William H. Rehnquist Award for Judicial Excellence, and later served as the “chief of chiefs” when she presided over the Conference of Chief Justices as its President.

In the morning of her visit, Justice Durham discussed state constitutional law with students in the Sutherland Moot Courtroom before meeting with College of Law faculty to discuss legal education. Justice Durham then presided over the final round of the Traynor Moot Court Competition along with Utah Court of Appeals Judges Gregory Orme and Michelle Christiansen.

Justice Durham Moot 2013-2

The two teams competing in the final round were Daniel Boyer and Nathan Marigoni for the petitioner and Jeremy Christiansen and Stephen Dent for the respondents.  All four students did an excellent job, leaving the judges with the difficult task of choosing a winner.  After noting that they were presented with a “close call,” the judges declared the team of Jeremy Christiansen and Stephen Dent the winners and named Jeremy Christiansen as the best oralist. Congratulations to both teams for a job well done.  And thank you to Justice Durham for sharing her time with the law school.

Justice Durham Moot 2013-4