Circulation of Library Materials
Circulation privileges are extended to University of Utah faculty, staff and students, faculty and students of Utah Academic Library Consortium (UALC) member institutions, members of the judiciary and bar and their authorized employees, and paid permit users. Users must have a current University of Utah ID, or a UALC member college ID, or a Utah Bar membership card, or library permit to check out materials. All library users must register at the circulation desk before borrowing materials. Changes of address or other borrower information should be reported to the circulation desk. Lost or stolen ID cards or library permits should be reported immediately. Fines over $50.00 will result in a suspension of borrowing privileges.
For the Public:
Only the first floor of the building is accessible to the public. Books located on levels two, three, four, or five can be retrieved for patrons by a member of our staff; please ask for assistance at one of the service desks. Some older books are stored in an off-site storage area. If a reference to such a book is found in the library catalog, please see an attendant at one of the service desks and ask for the book to be retrieved. We will make every effort to retrieve materials located in our current building in a timely manner but cannot guarantee instant access. Patrons needing materials located in offsite storage must complete a Book Retrieval Request Form. Most items should be retrievable within one Business Day of the request. If you know ahead of time that you will need items from storage or an upper floor, please submit a Book Retrieval Form in advance and we can arrange to have them ready for your visit.
Some older books are stored in an off-site storage area. If a reference to such a book is found in the library catalog, please see an attendant at one of the service desks and ask for the book to be retrieved. Students needing materials located in offsite storage must complete a Book Retrieval Request Form. Most items should be retrievable within one Business Day of the request.
All books used but not checked out SHOULD NOT be reshelved. Please leave unwanted materials on tables, book carts marked for library returns, or brought to the service desks on levels one and two. There are also mobile book return carts located on levels one and four.
Books periodicals, and documents:
All users for 60 days (with extended loans for law faculty).
May be renewed up to four times.
Nolo Press books may be checked out for 7 days but may not be renewed.
Materials on general reserve or course reserve may be checked out for two hours. Occasionally, items will have longer check-out times at the request of faculty. Material can be renewed unless someone else is waiting for it.
Power cords to charge phones and laptops are available for check out at the service desk on level one. Power cords are available for many, but not all, types of cell phones and laptops and are available for a four hour checkout period.
Any materials stamped “non-circulating,” loose-leaf materials, reference and index materials, volumes of sets, and non-print items such as microfiche do not circulate and must be used inside the library. DVDs may only be checked out by the Quinney College of Law community and checkout period is for 3 days.
Library material is due on the most recent dated stamped on the “DATE DUE” ticket on the front flyleaf of the book or other material, the date resulting from telephone renewal, or a recall date due.
A hold will be placed on borrowing privileges for anyone with overdue material. Courtesy overdue notices will be mailed one week before an item is due and again a week later. If the item is not returned within twenty-eight days, the item will be billed for replacement. The bill for replacement will include the price of the item plus a $25.00 non-refundable processing fee. In the event a price cannot be established, a predetermined replacement amount (based on the material type, purchase price and the item’s popularity) is charged per item. Failure to receive courtesy overdue notices in no way relieves the borrower’s obligation to return the item by the date it is due. Responsibility is assigned to the borrower whose name appears on the ID card used for checkout.
A registration hold may result if a borrower’s fines are not resolved. Payroll deductions may result if faculty and staff fines are not resolved. (University of Utah Policy and Procedures Manual, 2-44 III C.)
Holds and Recalls:
All materials are subject to recall. Borrowers are assured a minimum fourteen day check out privilege. Beyond this period recalled items must be returned within ten days from the date of recall. Fines of $1.00 per day per item will begin the first day the item is overdue and will accrue until the item is returned. Computer generated recall notices based on these calculations will be mailed to the borrower.
Items may be renewed online or in person at one of the service desks, or by phoning 581-6438. It is the responsibility of the borrower to be aware of due dates for telephone or online renewals. Renewal requests must be received before the item is billed for replacement.
Fines over $50.00 will result in a suspension of borrowing privileges.
*Books periodicals, and documents
Lost book charges apply 30 days past due
$1 per hour for each hour late
Maximum late fine $50.00
Lost charges 30 days past due
$1.00 per day
Lost charges 30 days past due
Lost book charges:
Materials more than 30 days overdue are declared LOST, and the cost of replacement is charged to the borrower. The cost of replacement includes a $25.00 non-refundable processing fee.
Items which borrowers report having returned will be searched promptly and thoroughly. If the books are not found, the borrower will be charged for the cost of replacement.
Unpaid library accounts may result in holds being placed on student records (registration, transcripts, re-admission), faculty/staff payroll deductions, or civil liability.
Non-university borrowers (library permit and UALC borrowers) who have outstanding fines or material will be unable to check out library material until all records are cleared and may be reported to the bar association or held civilly liable.
Questions regarding overdue charges or bills should be directed to Circulation.
Borrowers may be detained and items inspected if a library security system alarm sounds. Theft or mutilation of library materials may result in criminal liability under UCA 76-6-801 et seq. and 76-6-412, as well as civil damages.
Other Circulation services:
Searches may be placed for books that are not checked out but cannot be found on the shelf. Library users may obtain a list of books currently checked out to them by asking at one of the service desks.
Receipts for returned items may be requested at the time the items are returned at the service desk.
Lost and found items will be held at the service desk on level one for one week before being turned over to the University lost and found.