Residency for Tuition Purposes
Students attending the S.J. Quinney College of Law who are coded as non-residents for tuition purposes are required to pay non-resident tuition and fees (Utah Code Annotated 1953, 53B-8-102). Under current University of Utah policy, non-residents are able to apply for residency after successfully completing 40 law school credit hours (1 – 1.5 years). To earn 40 credits within 12 months requires attending summer school for ten credits after completing the first year curriculum. Summer school tuition is charged at the in-state rate for all students.
While the completion of credit hours is the most common method our students use to qualify for residency, there are a number of situations under which a non-resident can be reclassified as a resident. The University’s guidelines for reclassification are available online at http://admissions.utah.edu/apply/residency/. Residency applications will not be processed after the published deadlines. Please note that obtaining supporting documentation (Utah driver license, Utah car registration, etc.) for the residency reclassification must be completed 90 days before the start of the semester.